February’s Reading Recap

It’s the last day of February!  How did that happen?  It’s also bitterly cold here in the UK, so I’ve brewed myself a monster-sized vat of latte to sit and reflect pleasurably on the wonderful books I read this month.

Last year I read 34 books, and the year before I read fewer, so I have generally averaged 2-3 books a month.  In February I succumbed to one of the dreaded fluey viruses that was going round, but the silver lining was plenty of delicious reading time.  I’m delighted to have managed 7 books this month and every single one fulfils a category on my #40yrs40bks challenge.  Hurrah!

Intoxicated by my reading success I even decided to undertake another reading challenge this year!  I stumbled over the Better World Books 2018 challenge on twitter and quite fancied taking part.  There are 24 categories and there is some crossover with the #40yrs40bks, so it’s not daunting (well, maybe the poetry category!), especially since some of the books I’ve already read this year fit the bill nicely.

 Books I read in February:

  1. Noah Can’t Even – Simon James Green
  2. One – Sarah Crossan
  3. Ink – Alice Broadway
  4. The Language of Thorns – Leigh Bardugo
  5. Bird People & Other Stories – Chantelle Atkins
  6. The Island at the End of Everything – Kiran Millwood-Hargrave
  7. The Exact Opposite of Okay – Laura Steven

IMG_E4206

All of my February reads were by authors that I have not previously read, and 3 were even debuts, which is quite exciting: hopefully more to look forward to from these authors in future.  I’m not going to discuss these lovely books now: there are some absolute gems here and I want to review them in more detail soon.  Watch this space!

Books read this month: 7

Goodreads Reading Challenge: 11/40

#40YRS40BKS Challenge progress: 11/40

Better World Books Challenge progress: 7/24

If you’d like to take part in or see more details on the challenges, I’ve added a challenge page to the blog with the details.

Over to you: what was your favourite read in February?  Do you have a recommendation that should be on my tbr for March?

Leave a comment